it was only a 5 minute walk.

054

After two and a half years of living in Waikiki I have just now had the initiative to explore the Ala Wai community center – which is quite literally located in my back yard. I’m taking a wheel throwing class there, and today was the first session. Completely amazed with the resources that have been so close for so long, I’m honestly a little disappointed in myself that I didn’t start taking classes there two years ago. For a small fee have a weekly class that lasts two hours and nearly endless hours of open studio time. Basically, as long as I’m enrolled in a class I can walk down to the studio and use the wheel. So incredibly cool!

049

When I first moved to Hawaii I took a ceramics class at the Air Force Base which always stuck with me as a craft I wanted to develop. These are a few of the pieces I made then – they’re pretty amateurish – but I’m hoping to work on my skills now that I have such convenient and consistent access to a ceramics studio.

045

044

One thought on “it was only a 5 minute walk.

  1. I remember these. I love the one you gave me. See it every morning. Glad you found the class, so nice that it’s so close. Maybe we could go when I come to visit? Love you! XO

Leave a Reply

