a comforting reminder.

You are so young,

you stand before beginnings. I would like to beg of you dear friend, as well as I can, to have patience with everything that remains unsolved in your heart. Try to love the questions themselves. Like locked rooms, and books in a foreign language. Do not look for the answers. They cannot be given to you because you could not live them. It is a question of experiencing everything…you need to live the question. Perhaps you will, gradually without noticing it, find yourself, experiencing the answer some distant day.

– Rainer Maria Rilke

I’ve shared this poem before, and I write about it again because it is a comforting reminder of perseverance.

Considering my struggle to find employment in my field, this poem reminds me not to lose hope and determination – I can’t let go of my dream scenario – the way I see my life in it’s ideal form. It’s difficult to face challenges that seem out of immediate control. I can’t control the economy, I can’t control the job market.

But I can decide that determination is an asset I possess. The ball is still in my court if I decide that the current circumstances aren’t necessarily a bad thing, they just dictate my need to get creative with employment options.

My favorite part of the aforementioned Rilke quote:

Do not look for the answers. They cannot be given to you because you could not live them. It is a question of experiencing everything…you need to live the question…

and this serves as a comforting reminder.

Leave a Reply

