inspired energy.

Throughout the past three years I’ve experienced so many of life’s big changes.

I was married to the most wonderful man in the world in 2009.

I moved away from the only state I’d ever lived in in 2009 (i ❤ you florida).

I moved to Texas in 2009.

I ran a half-marathon with my Mom (both our first races) in 2010.

I moved across the Pacific ocean – 4,700 miles away from Florida, to Hawaii – in 2010.

I applied for as many jobs as I was qualified for, as soon as I got to Hawaii, in December of 2010.

I finished my Masters Degree of Political Science in 2011.

I ran a full, 26.2 mile marathon in 2011.

I still struggled to find a job, but eventually found one at a bank, in August of 2011.

I discovered that I really didn’t really like the banking world in 2011.

And then I got a phone call from a company I’d interviewed for in January of 2011 – offering me a position almost a year later in November of 2011…

…and the timing couldn’t be better.

I am a different person today than I was 1 year ago. I’ve learned to cope with stress as I managed to finish my Master’s thesis, graduating with a 4.0 GPA. I learned to adapt, realizing that no matter how open minded I once thought I was, it takes effort to become accustomed to a new culture. I learned to be humble, knowing that there are millions of other graduates out there just like me who are waiting for the job they thought they would be guaranteed with hard work. But most recently I’ve learned that I have so consistently been focused on accomplishing goals that I’ve felt reflected the person I think I should be, that I have neglected the aspects of my life that inspire me and give me focused, purposeful energy.

Which is why the job I have now means so much to me. And I can’t help but think that I wasn’t given the opportunity a year ago when I initially applied, because maybe I wouldn’t have fully appreciated the opportunity and the need for creativity in my life.

This phrase that was recently posted on Makeunder My Life pretty much sums it up:

2011 is soon coming to a close & I’m reflecting on all the monumental changes that I’ve gone through in this year. But I’m certain that the challenges have made me a more solid, confident person and for that I am eternally grateful. I am thankful & excited to kick off 2012 with new and inspired energy. I hope everyone who reads this can take a  look at their life and do the same.

Leave a Reply

