treasure hunting.

Last weekend Don & I visited the Honolulu Academy of Arts for their annual clearance sale, which included a tent sale of items from their lending library.

We arrived early in anticipation of a crowd (which turned out to be a smart move) and I got my hands on a J.M.W. Turner framed print, amongst a few other prints that caught my eye.

Recently I’ve been working on a few projects which remain photo-less until I feel confident enough in their progress to share them. For now here’s a look at the mess I make in the process.

2 thoughts on “treasure hunting.

  1. Turner is one of my favorite artists. I once got to see originals from him at the tate in london.

    Don’t feel unconfident about showing your work though, even if it’s not as developed as you want. From my own experience I know it’s hard not to compare yourself to all the endless artists out there, but I feel that art becomes much more enjoyable and easier to make when you don’t think about how you or your end product will look standing next to someone else and instead focus on just making -something- that represents an honest effort of your current ability and accept that “something has been made” is, itself, an accomplishment. 🙂

    • Thank you for the encouraging advice. It is so easy to be self critical, but you are absolutely right that it is better to take assurances in the act of creating itself, than to be self conscious about the end result.

      I am jealous of your having been to the Tate in London. I hope to visit one day myself!

Leave a Reply

