the art of dining alone.

Image

I’d previously anticipated that cooking a nice dinner and pouring a glass of wine at the end of the day for myself, just me, would be a lonely endeavor. Come to find out it’s not that bad. My dining companion is my current reading material.

Image

It’s been a strange few days since the airport goodbye’s.

I know that the anticipation and build-up of the day Don would leave was the hardest part of it all.

This is a first for me. I’ve constantly been reflecting on the way other military wives have reacted to deployment circumstances and found comfort and confidence in the strong example these women have set.

Even as I see myself as a fiercely independent woman, I still must learn to deal with missing my best friend for a long time. As Don says, “It’s you and me till the wheels fall off”.

But as hard as it is now, I am so confident in the fact that we are both exactly where we need to be, doing exactly what we were meant to do. So that gives me confidence and energy to embrace the challenges, to take advantage of opportunity and to look forward to the future.

 

 

One thought on “the art of dining alone.

  1. My son will be deployed in November, we are really close and I am not looking forward to it. He is part of the reason I will be moving back to Oahu in July
    ( I commented about my move on another post). I didn’t realize that deployment is what has separated you two. Thank you so much for all that he does and that you do in support of him. Take care of yourself. Connie

Leave a Reply

