Market Morning.

When Don & I lived in Winter Park, FL. one of my favorite things to do was walk to the Farmers Market on Saturday mornings. We lived hardly a block away and it was such a great way to start the weekend.

Now that we live in Hawaii, there are many great Farmers Markets to chose from, the closest one being the KCC Farmers Market which is located across from Diamond Head Park. This morning I had a hankering for a good breakfast so to the Farmers Market I went.

I love Okinawan sweet potatoes, and this stand put an interesting spin on the purple spud by baking it into breakfast cookies. I tried one, they were simple and slightly sweet.

There was a huge line for the Fried Green Tomatoes, although I love the movie, I decided to skip this treat.

Another interesting fried concoction were these “sushi sliders”. They tempura fried kale, purple potatoes bananas and ahi tuna. I didn’t try this one either but it sure looked interesting!

I did sip on a refreshing green juice in place of coffee this morning, and it surprisingly gave me a good bit of energy.

To sweeten things up a bit I tried the most delicious Kona Coffee Cheesecake from Hawaiian Cheesecakes.

And then there was this.

A soul-food stand complete with biscuits and gravy, cheesy grits, collard greens and last but not least fried chicken and waffles. Enough southern food to make a Florida girl feel right at home. Although I don’t eat chicken I must say this set up almost made me change my ways. I compromised by getting a waffle, sans fried chicken and it hit the spot.

Great way to start my Saturday – but I can’t wait until Don gets back so we can enjoy it together – I’m sure he would’ve happily tried the fried chicken ;).

 

One thought on “Market Morning.

Leave a Reply

