a work in progress.

Between stimulus and response there is a space. In that space is our power to chose our response. In our response lies our growth and our freedom.

– Victor E. Frankl

I came back home from Cambodia with a full head of steam. Inspiration and energy overflowing. Maybe it was the jet lag – maybe it was genuine excitement for the future, but for the first week or so I woke up early, finished a second European Union grant application for Protection for Juvenile Justice, (long distance volunteering continues) pushed out multiple resumes, finished art projects, and maintained personal health priorities.

And then I got a call back for a job interview.

Life stops. I re-focus, put on my game face and get ready to interview with my very first degree related job (an entire year after earning my Masters). Everything about this job seems perfect. Alas the stars align. Or so I thought.

Experience in the field? Check.

Genuine interest in the job? Check.

Organization that aligns with my personal values? Check.

Consistent salary? Check.

Job interview goes well. Check.

…follow up interview from said employer…

not so much.

And so the pessimism creeps in and dulls the light that was shining so bright – carrying me through these last few months of loneliness.

All I can do from here is understand that I have the best of intentions and rest in knowing that I can choose to continue the forward momentum – even it seems a bit crooked.

Maybe what I think I should be doing is a little bit different than what the universe has in store for me, but I promise myself – everyday I’m trying.

Leave a Reply

