Cleanse and Detoxify with Fresh Juice

This week I’m participating in a 6-day juice cleanse with the yoga studio that I’ve been frequenting lately.

July and August were filled with repetitive bouts of “eating my emotions” so when the opportunity presented itself to cleanse my body of the junk I previously indulged in, I decided to take it. Since September 1st I’ve been roughly following Kris Carr’s Crazy Sexy Detox which basically entails fresh green juice for breakfast followed by mostly raw, vegan and gluten free lunch and dinner recipes. September 10-15 is fresh juice only and recipes were provided by a workshop held at Moonstruck Yogi.

I’ve been surprised by the amount of energy I’ve had (I’m on day 4) and the lack of cravings which are mostly due to the seriously delicious juice recipes we were given. I’d previously tried juicing and abandoned it, probably because I wasn’t creative enough with the combination of fruits and veggies I was putting together. Since this cleanse is 6 days long and there are 3 recipes per day I’ve had the pleasure of tasting all sorts of wonderful, healthy and creative concoctions.

These two in particular are too tasty not to share!

Spicy Peach (I was skeptical about the jalapeno but it adds such a kick!)

4 peaches (or nectarines)

1/2 jalapeno

Handful of fresh mint

1 lime

1 cucumber (I added for volume)

Honey to taste (I skipped the honey because I don’t like super sweet juices)

Orange Trifecta

1 orange pepper

5 oranges

1 carrot

 

As a tip, I like to put my juice straight in the freezer while I’m cleaning out the juicer. By the time I’ve disassembled, scrubbed clean, and reassembled the juicer my juice is nice and cold which means it doesn’t have to be watered down with ice-cubes.

Juicers are expensive, but once you get hooked it’s worth the investment. I’d eventually like to upgrade to a more solid one, but the Bella Juice Extractor I got from Target has been working just fine for now and it was only $65.

Hope you give it a try, even if you don’t want to commit to a cleanse, a fresh juice for breakfast is a great way to start the day.

 

Leave a Reply

