From Alabama to Hawaii, Sapling Sculptures.

September 09 007About 4ish years ago Don was working in Montgomery Alabama for an extended amount of time. When I left home to go visit him, we went on an excursion to the Montgomery Museum of Art, which just so happened to be featuring Patrick Dougherty’s “Sapling Sculptures”.

Back in 2009, when we’d first witnessed the exhibition, I’d taken it in as a beautiful natural work of art – yet didn’t research it any further.

Come to find out that nearly 3 years later I’d come across another set of Sapling Sculptures at the Honolulu Museum of Art.

The sculptures aren’t permanent, and their final days of exhibit in Honolulu were March 3rd, but luckily Don & I were able to snap a few quick photo’s to add to our album of travels before they were cut down.

011026 021 And to add to the “it’s a small world” perspective – in doing a little bit of research for this post, I found out Dougherty recently sculpted an exhibit in my hometown of Sarasota, Florida at the Sararsota Museum of Art.