creativity is a process.

IMG_1348 IMG_1349 IMG_1354 Over the past couple of weeks I’ve been getting my new creative space organized. In the past I was so concerned with completing one idea that I lost momentum by getting stuck in perfecting one single project.

I’ve recently changed strategies by immediately creating what is on my mind and surrounding myself with sometimes imperfect, mostly incomplete, ideas. Lately that has meant lots of textiles and patterns. I’ve dug out the sewing machine and started working on creating unique, pillow covers and fabric designs on canvas.

I’m also looking forward to taking a few summer classes at the Honolulu Museum of Art including the Shibori & Indigo Dyeing, as well as Screen Printing. Also I’m anticipating my second round of Skillshare classes which begin next week, particularly Illustrator Brad Woodward‘s Learn the Ins and Outs of Illustrator and Designer John Contino‘s Illustration and Lettering.

I know that to truly be content I need to be constantly producing and focusing my creative energy. These classes are going to be a great starting point for committing to creativity.

Leave a Reply

